Accessibility links

El Mundo al Dia Launched Today


El Mundo al Dia (The World Today) brings the Voice of America's (VOA) television audiences in Venezuela, Colombia and other Andean nations a comprehensive new daily 30-minute Spanish-language news program

Washington, D.C., June 9, 2008 - El Mundo al Dia (The World Today) brings the Voice of America's (VOA) television audiences in Venezuela, Colombia and other Andean nations a comprehensive new daily 30-minute Spanish-language news program. The show features news updates, exclusive interviews, and reports from Washington, D.C., and elsewhere in the United States.

"Expanded coverage of Latin America allows us to provide more of what audiences there seek," said VOA Director Danforth W. Austin.

El Mundo al Dia, airing at 2100 UTC (5:00 p.m. EDT) and repeating at 2200 UTC (6:00 p.m. EDT), includes three main segments: international news, news from the United States, and Andean region news. Reporting emphasizes developments in health, sports, science, entertainment, and culture.

The five-minute version of El Mundo al Dia airs at 1900 UTC (3:00 p.m. EDT). Both broadcasts air live Monday through Friday, bringing U.S. and international news to a Latin American audience. Weekend editions of the half-hour edition focus on arts and cultural activities of the Washington, D.C. area. Programs are available on VOA's Spanish-language website: www.VOANoticias.com.

El Mundo al Dia replaces VOA Noticias, a daily 22-minute newscast that launched in June 2007.

The Voice of America, which first went on the air in 1942, is a multimedia international broadcasting service funded by the U.S. government through the Broadcasting Board of Governors. VOA broadcasts more than 1,250 hours of news, information, educational, and cultural programming every week to an estimated worldwide audience of more than 115 million people. Programs are produced in 45 languages.

For more information, please call the Office of Public Affairs at (202) 203-4959, or e-mail publicaffairs@voa.gov.

XS
SM
MD
LG