Accessibility links

VOA Launches Spanish TV Newscast to Latin America


Washington, D.C., June 21, 2004 - The Voice of America (VOA) today begins a five-minute, weekday Spanish-language television news broadcast for Latin America. The evening "capsule" program, Desde Washington (From Washington), will feature news briefs on the top international and U.S. stories of the day, as well as reports on Washington-based news and events of interest to Latin Americans.

"With these broadcasts, our neighbors to the south will be able to receive the latest Washington and world news from VOA on television as well as through radio and the Internet," said VOA Director David S. Jackson. "The response from our affiliates has already been very enthusiastic."

Desde Washington airs at 5:00 p.m. EDT (2100 UTC) Monday through Friday, and repeats at 7:00 p.m. EDT (2300 UTC) and again at 9:00 p.m. EDT (0100 UTC). VOA television affiliates in nearly a dozen countries throughout the Americas are now taking the program, with more being added each week.

Desde Washington joins the long-established Foro Interamericano journalist discussion program in presenting news and public affairs on television for Latin America. VOA also airs two hours of Spanish-language programming daily on shortwave, as well as a half-hour midday newscast and hourly news updates for affiliates weekdays via digital audio satellite. Programs are available live and on demand at their web page www.VOANews.com/Spanish.

The Voice of America, which first went on the air in 1942, is a multimedia international broadcasting service funded by the U.S. government. VOA broadcasts almost 1,000 hours of news, information, educational, and cultural programming every week to an estimated worldwide audience of 87 million people. Programs are produced in Spanish and 43 other languages.

For more information, call the Office of Public Affairs at (202) 401-7000, or E-mail publicaffairs@voa.gov.

XS
SM
MD
LG