Accessibility links

Breaking News

Voice of America wins multiple Chesapeake AP Broadcasters Association Awards

L to R: Steve Baragona, Brian Williamson, Chris Simkins, Jacquelyn De Phillips, Eric Stuart Pianin, Gabrielle Weiss, Anand Mistry, Carolyn Presutti, Carla Babb and Amy Katz

VOA had its best showing ever in this year’s Chesapeake Associated Press Broadcasters Association contest with first-place finishes in five of the 39 large-market TV and radio categories and another two second-place finishes.

A total of 22 broadcast stations took part this year in the annual competition, including all the major network affiliates in the Washington, D.C. and Baltimore metropolitan areas. The winners were announced on Saturday, June 8, in Ocean City, Maryland.

The VOA winners were Chris Simkins, Jeff Swicord, and Jacquelyn De Phillips in the Outstanding Public Affairs category for The Damage Done: Living America's Opioid Nightmare; Gabrielle Weiss in the Outstanding Feature or Human Interest Story category for Love and Barbeque; Steve Baragona and Brian Williamson in the Outstanding Digital Feature Project category for Greenland is Melting; Carla Babb in the Outstanding Specialty Reporting category for Military Beat; Carolyn Presutti, Amy Katz and Lori Lundin in the Outstanding Enterprise Reporting category for Macy's Hijab Debate.

The second-place finishers were Eric Stuart Pianin, Carolyn Presutti and Anand Mistry in the Outstanding Digital News Project category for Women and the Midterms; and Carla Babb and Bezhan Hamdard in the Outstanding Digital Feature Project category for Reflections on Race in the Military.