Accessibility links

Breaking News

VOA’s Midwest Correspondent Wins Three Awards from Chicago Chapter of Society of Professional Journalists

VOA's Kane Farabaugh with the awards from the Chicago chapter of the SPJ.
VOA's Kane Farabaugh with the awards from the Chicago chapter of the SPJ.

On Friday, May 10, Voice of America’s Midwest correspondent, Kane Farabaugh, picked up three Peter Lisagor awards from the Chicago Headline Club, the Chicago chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists -- the oldest chapter of this national organization. The ceremony took place at the Union League Club of Chicago.

Farabaugh won the top prize in the Best News Specialty/Business/Consumer News – Feature or Series category for his TV series “Between Trade Agreements and Tariffs”; in the Best News Specialty/Religious category for his TV piece “Tahera’s American Hijab”; and in the Best Video Journalist category for his work throughout the year.

“Covering America’s heartland and bringing its stories to the world is an important part of VOA’s mission,” said VOA Director Amanda Bennett. “I’m so pleased that this body of work has been recognized by our peers in the region.”

The Peter Lisagor Awards are an annual celebration of the best journalism produced throughout the Midwest, spanning all mediums including print, radio, television and digital. As the Chicago Daily News Washington bureau chief from 1959 to 1976, Peter Lisagor was one of the nation’s most respected and well-known journalists.

The Chicago Headline Club established the Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow his example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism.