Accessibility links

Breaking News

VOA’s Kane Farabaugh Wins Three Awards from Society of Professional Journalists’ Chicago Chapter

Kane Farabaugh, VOA Midwest Correspondent

Voice of America’s Midwest correspondent, Kane Farabaugh, picked up three Peter Lisagor awards from the Chicago Headline Club, the Chicago chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. The organization offered a virtual announcement of the winners, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Farabaugh won in the Best Health or Science Reporting category for his TV piece “Apollo 11 Anniversary and Beyond”; in the Best News Specialty, Business, Consumer News, Feature or Series category for his series “Trade not Aid”; and in the Best Video Journalist category.

“Congratulations to Kane for winning multiple Peter Lisagor awards for a second year,” said VOA Director Amanda Bennett. “We feel really gratified that our reporting on the stories of the American heartland has been recognized yet again by the Society of Professional Journalists. Telling America’s story to the world is something that we do really well every day at the Voice of America.”

Every year, the Chicago Headline Club, the oldest chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists celebrates the best journalism produced throughout the Midwest with the Peter Lisagor Awards. As the Chicago Daily News Washington bureau chief from 1959 to 1976, Peter Lisagor was one of the nation’s most respected and well-known journalists. The Chicago Headline Club, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary next year, established the Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow his example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism