Accessibility links

Breaking News

VOA Wins Five Chesapeake AP Awards in Multiple Categories

Locals play music in a scene from "Protecting the Coast in Cajun Country"
Locals play music in a scene from "Protecting the Coast in Cajun Country"

Voice of America journalists won first and second place awards in four categories in this year’s Chesapeake Associated Press Broadcasters Association contest. The awards ceremony took place virtually on Saturday, June 20th.

In the television large market grouping, VOA’s reporter Jeff Swicord and producer Jacquelyn De Phillips won first place in the Outstanding Light Feature category for Protecting the Coast in Cajun Country and reporter Gabrielle Weiss won second place for Going to the Go-Go in the same category.

VOA’s Midwest correspondent Kane Farabaugh won second place in the Outstanding Coverage of a Continuing Story category with his series Trade, Not Aid.

In the radio large market grouping, VOA’s Pentagon correspondent, Carla Babb, won first place in the Outstanding Specialty Reporting for her work on the Pentagon’s military beat, and senior correspondent Carolyn Presutti and reporter Lori Lundin won second place in the Outstanding Serious Feature category for American Teen Brides.

“I’d like to congratulate all of our winners,” said VOA News Center Director Yolanda Lopez. “Their work stands as a fine example of all the reporting we do at the News Center and throughout VOA telling America’s story from all sides and perspectives.”

The annual CAPBA journalism contest is open to journalists in Washington D.C., Maryland, and Delaware who work for AP member stations. Voice of America maintains licensing agreements with AP and other providers for content used in VOA’s programming intended for a global audience. The work submitted for competition consideration must have been broadcast during the previous calendar year. Categories are separated into radio and television and according to market size. A panel of peers from similar-sized markets judge the entries. Best of Show awards are voted on by a separate panel of judges.